European Data Protection Supervisor
European Data Protection Supervisor

Schengen Information System

Schengen Information System


In order to ensure supervision coordination for the second generation Schengen Information System, representatives of the national Data Protection Authorities ('DPAs') and the EDPS meet usually twice a year. The national DPAs represented are those of the 28 EU Member States, with Ireland and Croatia participating as observers. Additionally, the national DPAs of Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland are part of the group, as their countries participate in the system as well. The Group is currently chaired by the Maltese DPA.


Summary meetings






Guide for exercising the right of access

Common Positions


Archived webpage of the former Schengen Joint Supervisory Authority


Archived webpage of the former Joint Supervisory Body of Europol


Activity Reports